You are here

Competition Results are in for the 2017 Green Energy Challenge
As of July 21, 2018

Published on: 
July 27, 2017

The jury for ELECTRI International’s Green Energy Challenge has selected the NECA Student Chapters at Iowa State University, University of Washington and University of Toronto as this year’s finalist teams.

The 2017 competition challenged teams to design an energy upgrade for an organization in their community. This year’s challenge also included a community service requirement. Teams were required to create a volunteer plan of action and demonstrate in their proposal the activity and number of hours volunteered at the facility they chose to use for their project.

This year’s jury included Gerard Darville, Lutron Electronics; Rob Turner, Turner Electric Service Inc.; Tom Feissle, Southwire; David Dean, Thomas & Betts; Adam Rude, ERMCO; Keith Moffatt, Greenlee; Michael Clifton, Sprig Electric; Marvin Shotts, Schneider Electric/Square D; Davis Chastain, Graybar; Angie Hart, Rosendin; Fred Sargent, Sargent Electric Company; Joel Smith, Greenlee; Wes Anderson, Illinois Chapter NECA and Jerry Hayes, United Electric Company.

Contractors and industry allies are expected to fill the auditorium for the three oral presentations during the NECA Convention in Seattle on Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 1:30 pm.

To find out more about the Green Energy Challenge, visit